blueollie

downward spiral…

Brimfield 5K:
It was 75 F, 69 percent humidity at the start. I died just prior to 2. 8:45, 9:24, (18:09), 10:56 walk/jog 29:06. In the last mile I followed some cute spandex but had to let her go in the last .5 miles or so.

Tracy hung tough but felt a bit sick afterward. Me: I could feel that mile 1 was simply too hard for me today, in this weather. Wow.

I think that my long walks are draining me. So, I have to choose.

No, I am not going to bail on the October marathon, but I might resume short running training after that at least for a while. My 5K runs have gotten progressively worse since the FANS 24 hour event. But that downward spiral came when I replaced my “steady state, 8-10 mile run” OR “Tuesday speedwork” workout with a hard, marathon related power walk on Tuesday.

But my walking times have dropped and ironically, my weight lifting has gotten slightly stronger.

Ah, it is a zero sum game for me; one goes up, the other goes down.

August 15, 2015 - Posted by | running | ,

2 Comments »

  1. […] July 11: (same temp, more humid) JT’s 5K 27:59 July 18, very hot (82 F, 82 percent humidity) Brimfield 29:06 (hot, […]

    Pingback by Hanna City Hustle 2015: stopping the bleeding (and cooler) « blueollie | August 22, 2015 | Reply

  2. […] July 11: (same temp, more humid) JT’s 5K 27:59 July 18, very hot (82 F, 82 percent humidity) Brimfield 29:06 (hot, muggy) Hanna City Hustle 26:38 […]

    Pingback by 2015 Zoo Run Run « blueollie | August 29, 2015 | Reply


Leave a Reply

