blueollie

Pre-primary politics: bringing out the worst in me

Workout notes: weights and a 3 mile walk. I had thought about running, but I am still a bit fatigued from yesterday’s 18 mile (almost) training walk.

Weights: pull ups (4 sets of 10, then 1 more after incline presses): rotator cuff recoveries
incline presses: 10 x 135, 7 x 150, 7 x 150 (good)
military press, row and pull down superset:
military presses: (dumbbell) 2 sets of 12 x 50 seated, supported, 10 x 40 standing
rows: one arm dumbbell: 2 sets of 10 x 60 each arm, 10 x 110 machine
pull downs: 2 sets of 10 x 160 (usual), 10 x 150 alternate machine.

walk: pleasant outdoors 5K (to lower Bradley park); came up “behind” Barbara and swatted her butt. She deserved it.

Politics

Some of my “progressive” friends are touting Bernie Sanders. Reality: yes, he is drawing large, in person crowds of liberals; Obama too drew large crowds.
But he has nowhere near the money that Obama had at this time, and if he has the large number strategically placed fields offices in place (as Obama did at this time), I am unaware of it.
I think that there is no comparison as to the level of organization, and I don’t see him pulling together multiple constituencies (as a Democrat must do).

My guess: he’ll win a few states (New England area?) but, hey, even Rick Santorum won some states.

Then there is The Donald. Why am I fascinated with him?

I see him as a troll. No, he doesn’t draw large crowds, but unlike Sanders, he LEADS the race. Now that might well be a bogus reading of the polls; I consider it highly likely that his lead will evaporate as more and more Republicans “get voted off the island”, so to speak. It appears that Rick Perry and Rand Paul are about to depart soon.

Nevertheless, he calls idiots “idiots”; he has no patience with the droning mediocrities that feel entitled to a captive audience.

If I were financially situated so that I could provide for my daughter and for myself for the next decade without working, I’d vote for him. It would be fun to see him “burn it all down”, so to speak.
But alas, he’d burn me down with the rest, so….a reluctant “no thanks”. Besides, Trump will quit when it ceases to be fun.

What about the other Republicans? They’d be bad, but I have enough “in the bank” to survive a Bush caliber disaster for 8 years. So if the moronic “progressives” don’t want to vote for Hillary Clinton in the general election (if she wins), fine. Let them help a Republican win and destroy our society’s safety nets and get us into new wars. I am too old to serve in the military and I *probably* have enough financial cushion to survive 8 years of a Republican.

I swear; listening to these mediocre progressives flap their gums is almost enough to make me switch to the Republicans. And if I could quadruple my personal worth before the election, I would vote Republican just to troll their sorry asses.🙂

August 12, 2015 - Posted by | 2016, politics, walking, weight training | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

