blueollie

Why I have turned into such a head case (sports)

Workout notes: got an early start; lifted then ran on the track/treadmill.

Lifting: pull ups (4 sets of 10; went really well), with rotator cuff recoveries.
bench: 10 x 135, 3 x 185, 3 x 185, 7 x 170
pull ups: another set of 10
super set of military, row, pull downs:
military: 2 sets of 10 x 45 dumbbell, standing, 1 set of 12 x 40 dumbbell, standing
rows: 3 sets of 10 x 110 (machine)
pull down: 3 sets of 10 x 150 (two different machines).

As I neared the end of my weight routine, I almost dreaded my planned run. I think that I know why.

What I did: 11 minute treadmill mile
2 miles (middle lane, track) 17:51 (8:57/8:53, some slow down on the last 800 m)
10:45 treadmill run.

Then 10 minutes on the bike to cool down and make my knees feel good.

Yes, my first half mile was 4:34

What is going on (re: head case): well, it is no secret that I am slowing down; this spring saw my worst 5K running performances since the fall of 2011. Part of it might well be my shift to marathon walk training (which IS going reasonably well, so it seems). But part of it is that I am 4 years older.

And, well, it appears as if I am approaching the “9 minute miles becoming reasonably difficult” stage; that is one landmark that I’d never thought that I’d reach. My current 9 minute mile is what my old 7 minute mile used to be. That doesn’t feel good, at least emotionally.

But, at the gym, there was an old retired physics professor who is approaching 80 and…yes, I remember when he was as I am now. He is still working out, doing things right. And…well…that is a preview for me (IF I am LUCKY) so I may as well enjoy doing what I can do.

So, before I run, I find myself saying “let me be accepting of what I can do today”; when I do that I am more relaxed and I run better.

Head case: politics The Fox News Republican debate: there is a JV and a varsity debate, with the “top 10” being invited to the latter.

July 29, 2015 - Posted by | 2016, running, weight training |

2 Comments »

  1. I’m sorry, that is mentally rough.
    People can say, “Oh, but you are still so fast,” etc, but it’s hard not to compare current performance with the past.

    Comment by jenjw4 | July 29, 2015 | Reply

    • I see it as more as an adjustment that I need to make. The upside is that the long walks have improved quite a bit. But as I age, my “energy tank” gets smaller and I have to prioritize withdrawing from it.🙂

      One adjustment: on my “recovery workout days”, I just run (or walk) a set course and I don’t bother to start my stop watch. If I am constrained by time, I readjusted the “how much time do I have for this workout” by estimating my run at 12 mpm (though it is slightly faster than that) and my walk at 16 mpm. and choosing a course that allows me to go as far as I have time for. In the old days, it was 10 and 14 mpm.

      Comment by blueollie | July 29, 2015 | Reply


Leave a Reply

