blueollie

Bench press benchmark

Today: too damned lazy. I lifted and swam..but mostly goofed off. Note: I am on a 10 month contract.

Workout notes: weights, then swimming.

Bodyweight: 185 (gym), 184.5 home.
Weights: pull ups: 4 sets of 10, rotator cuff in between.
bench: 10 x 135, 3 x 185, 8 x 170
incline: 10 x 135
pull ups: 10 (to get to 50)
military: 2 sets of 12 x 50 dumbbell, seated, supported, 10 x 40 standing.
rows: dumbbell: 2 sets of 10 x 50 (each arm), 10 x 60 (each arm)

Note: as a graduate student, I once got 11 x 230 (body weight at the time). So, I’ve lost 8 body weight reps since 1986.

Swim: 500 easy, 5 x 25 back, 25 free, 5 x 25 fly, 25 back
5 x (100 pull, 100 fins)
4 x 50 fist/free
2200 yards (1.25 miles, or 2000 meters) total. Note: I mixed the strokes as my rotator cuff was slightly sore.

The gym was mostly empty so I didn’t pus the body weight set; I MIGHT have had one more rep in me but I didn’t want to take a chance, even though the bench has a “safety catch”.

Social: Diner owner had enough with parents letting their toddler scream.

Of course, some are going “oh how horrible”. Well, I have a solution: someone should open a restaurant that openly advertises “screaming kids are ok”…heck, let the little darlings run around the tables, run into the waiters and other patrons, etc. And let people who don’t believe in disciplining their kids go there.

July 20, 2015 - Posted by | swimming, weight training | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

