blueollie

Honesty and accuracy, and listening to your social adversaries

Workout notes: weights only. The left knee is still barking at me, though doing 10 minutes on the bike seemed to help. Since I am running a 5K tomorrow, I’ll resist the temptation to play hooky from my research and do a short hike.

Weights: pull ups: 3 sets of 10, with hip hikes and squat stretches
bench press: 10 x 135, 4 x 180, 7 x 170 (strong), rotator cuff recoveries
dumbbell bench press: 10 x 70 (each arm)
pull ups: 10, then 2 sets of 5 (different grip)
military press: 2 sets of 12 x 50 (seated, supported), 12 x 40 standing (dumbbells, each arm)
pull downs: 2 sets of 10 x 160 “easy” machine, 10 x 150 alternate machine
rows: 3 sets of 10 x 110 (alternate machine)

Posts
I’ve been discussing issues relating to violence against women; of course that is related to (but different from) the issue of sexual assault.

The uncomfortable truth is that, while some claims are straight forward, many are not; there is a lot of ambiguity as Carol Tavris explains:

This was 42 minutes well spent, and was not one of those “those who don’t agree with me are either intellectually dishonest or guilty of (misogyny/misandry)”. Think about it: what would one expect when one combines immaturity, hormones, alcohol, immature judgement together with the human brain’s tendency to remember things that it wants to remember? False memories are “real” and it has happened to me in far more benign situations. As Professor Tavris says, the human mind is designed to remember the “gist” of things, not details.

Now of course, activists and advocates are unlikely to be impressed by this lecture. We seemed hardwired to defend what we already believe, provided our beliefs are passionate enough. (here and here)

And yes, I am no different. But I think here is where I differ from those who support many of the things that I support: yes, I want to be liked and accepted by “the team”. But my “team” isn’t the team of social and political liberals; my team is the one who “gets things right.” Or put another way: a liberal screaming that I am really a closet conservative, misogynist, racist, close minded, Christian, etc. doesn’t bother me very much, if it all. On the other hand, if a very smart, intellectually accomplished person correctly pointed out that I was wrong or illogical and that I was too stupid and ignorant to change my mind and to retract what I said: THAT would bother me a lot.

Hence, I say “I am not convinced” and “I do not believe that” a lot, and that irritates a lot of people. It even makes some dislike me. Note: “I do not believe that” is not the same as saying “I believe that to be false”.

Side note
Since I’ve been looking at videos about “violence and women”, this popped up on my youtube feed:

And I freely admit, I started watching when I realized the woman had on very tight, shiny leggings. And this appears to me to be the case of someone on a drug trip of some sort; she assaulted a male (minor); he resisted and then later came back on her as she was walking away. Both got fined; he would have been ok had he just reported her to the police. This goes to the point of “self defense” vs. “retaliation”…and yes, it is complicated. Growing up, I was taught that “no retaliation” was an invitation to be further abused, and that might be true in some social settings. It isn’t true for me in my current setting however.

July 10, 2015 - Posted by | social/political, weight training | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

