blueollie

Presidents: past and future, rain, libraries and currency…

Local: yes, it has rained in buckets here. Now only has this past June been the second wettest month on record for Illinois (last time was 1926!) but it was the wettest June in the whole country.

Yes, I’ve always thought that President Carter was underrated, though he did make a mistake by alienating potential allies. I liked his programs, but he seemed to go out of his way to attack liberals.

Now that the 2016 primary season is easing into starting, Hillary Clinton is being attacked from the left…and many of these attacks are coming from the Republicans. Basically, they see Sen. Sanders as being easier to beat (and he would be) so they want to prop him up as much as possible.

And yes, I made my first donation to the Clinton campaign.

Libraries Yes, they are going an transition in this digital age. I admit that I don’t use them very much, except for the electronic databases. Why? I tend to buy the books that I read..even after the fact!

Relationships: this is an excellent TED talk on infidelity. Sometimes affairs (whatever type) defy logic. However I have some confusion as to what constitutes an affair. Sure, physical sex and sex related activity (Bill Clinton stuff) and Anthony Wiener stuff (sexting) qualify. But is that it?

I also think that it is tough to see where you are wrong. Seeing my social media feed has been eyeopening; it seems as if many have a “I am the only sane one; the rest of the world is screwed up” attitude, which is satirized in this Pearls Before Swine cartoon.

pb150709ratperfect

Click on the thumbnail to read the cartoon at the official site.

Fun riddle (hetero guys will have trouble):

I joked that I let her in line in front of me (at a local store). How do you know that is not true?

i-would-be-so-happy

(click on the thumbnail to see the photo at the source)

July 9, 2015 - Posted by | 2016, politics, politics/social, relationships, republicans, republicans politics, social/political | , , , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. I don’t really remember Carter’s presidency, but he seems an admirable man. I read your posted article and, while I knew he is a humanitarian, the part about helping eradicate Guineau worm was interesting. It would be amazing to leave that kind of legacy.

    Libraries are transitioning and I hate it when I see mentions of libraries being doomed; of course, that IS partially self-interest, especially since I need to work 20+ years before I can retire, but I also see the public good.

    One of the things I love about libraries is that they are one of the only remaining public indoor spaces. We have so many people who use my library for meetings, tutoring, even supervised visitation with their children. It’s a great neutral, safe space. We also have people who spend most of their day here, especially when it’s really hot or cold out. While we have a lot of pre-teens using the computers to play Minecraft, I don’t think a day goes by where reference doesn’t help at least one person (usually more) with online job applications.

    I’ll have to watch the TED talk. There are so many gray lines when it comes to infidelity. My main reason (besides not wanting to be hurtful, of course) for maintaining fidelity to my spouse is a fear of dating. I posted on Facebook yesterday about a patron asking if I am married. It made me ponder being single. If you made a Venn Diagram of my requirements in a mate (male, 45-65, single, willing to be monogamous, kind, funny, likes my children, makes at least $85,000, professional in appearance/demeanor, not racist, sexist nor homophobic and must also like big butts and purple hair) with the qualities of the males that come into my library (my main dating pool), I don’t think the circles would intersect at all.🙂

    Comment by jenjw4 | July 9, 2015 | Reply

    • ” If you made a Venn Diagram of my requirements in a mate (male, 45-65, single, willing to be monogamous, kind, funny, likes my children, makes at least $85,000,..”

      There is also the issue that many younger women would also want such a man.🙂

      Comment by blueollie | July 9, 2015 | Reply

      • Yep. That’s why I’d be willing to date a 65- year- old. 🙂 plus, not liking children or wanting children would be fine because mine are adults.

        Comment by jenjw4 | July 10, 2015

    • I made a crack about “if I were single again, I’d want to see a woman’s resume and tax returns prior to getting serious.”

      What this was about: at my age, I am no longer eager to support anyone. If she had just enough income to chip in with some of the bills and pay for her own luxuries (foo foo stuff), that would be fine with me, provided she was willing to accept my level of frugality (I drive a 2006 Prius and have no plans to change, avoid the more expensive hotels unless I get an internet bargain, etc.)

      If she wants to be supported in a higher lifestyle than she can afford, I am not the one for her.

      Of course that is a non-issue for me as I am married to someone who had a fair amount of professional success, and she hasn’t wised up enough to dump me (not as yet anyway.🙂 )

      Comment by blueollie | July 10, 2015 | Reply

      • I should have also said “Tru Dat.” 🙂 Another good reason to stay married. It might sound cold, but I’m pretty analytical about what is in my best interest. My husband can be an asshole, but he’s mostly kind, he makes a lot more than I do, and my dating pool would pretty much include a 19-year-old dishwasher with gauges in his ears, a late-40’s gentleman who appears to be in an Aryan motorcycle gang, several differently-abled men, and a veteran with PTSD who likes “graphic” graphic novels.🙂

        Comment by jenjw4 | July 10, 2015


Leave a Reply

