blueollie

Ready to head to Froggy Land (aka TCU)

I always enjoy mathematics conferences: I am about to head to another one. Yes, this time I am giving a talk.

So, I am all but packed (need to pack documents) and ready to go.

Workout notes
Weights:
rotator cuff
pull ups: 10, 5, 10, 5, 10, 5, 5, 5 (55 total); varied the grip quite a bit.
bench: 10 x 135, 3 x 180, 3 x 180, 10 x 160 (note: by myself so I didn’t push my limits)
military: 2 sets of 10 x 45 dumbbell, 10 x 40 dumbbell

Track: 4 miles (middle lane)

14:31 worth of drills
12:56 1 quicker, 1 easy
24:59 (12:33/12:26) steady and intentional 52:28 total.

Not “fast” but, given where I am, respectable. I need to smooth out my form if I wish to walk a “fast” (read: sub 5:30) marathon this fall. My plan is to do one long walk on Sunday (20 miles or 5 hours), one “pace” workout (10-12 miles) during the week, and fill out the rest with easier walking, running, 5K races, swimming and lifting.

I know that 5:30 isn’t very fast but I haven’t done that since September 2009.

Coincidence
I went to the Midwest (A) All Star game at Dozer park; there were almost 5900 people there. It was a good time. After the fireworks show which ended the evening, I told a lady that I liked her “2012 NCAA Cross Country shirt”. Well her husband is with her and he is Mike DeWitt, a famous racewalking coach who helped out at Augie Hirt’s racewalking group a couple of times. Yes, he actually observed me walking and gave me some tips.

He is now the track coach for Illinois-Springfield and still does racewalking; I feel a couple of paid lessons coming on. No, I’ll never do the judged stuff again (right knee won’t straighten all the way) but I need to smooth out my technique if I am to have success in the longer walks (24 hour, 50 mile, 100 mile); I want to do better at FANS next year.

June 24, 2015 - Posted by | Personal Issues, racewalking, walking, weight training | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

