blueollie

Steamboat 2015 photos and stories

Workout notes: swimming: 500 free, 10 x 50 fist/free on 1:10, 5 x (25 fly, 25 free, 25 back, 25 free), 300 side/free, 400 alternating pull/free.

Weights: rotator cuff,
pull ups (5 sets of 10; 4 prior to bench),
bp: 10 x 135, 2 x 180, 4 x 170, 7 x 155
military (dumbbell) 10 x 45, 7 x 45, 10 x 40
rows: 3 sets of 10, different machine than normal.

Blood donation: a complete bust; blood clotted; my vein is bruised and swollen. I need to wait a few more days after Steamboat.

Steamboat photos:

Me:


I ran with the lady in yellow for a mile or two; she then tucked in behind me at mile 7 and got me when I went to the side of the course to give T a high 5. Hey, when you are as slow as I am now, a few seconds is like adding a year or two to the age of a mountain (in a geological time scale)

Nipped at the line..though my chip time was a few seconds faster than hers. I checked.πŸ™‚

Resignation. I was happy that I didn’t have to walk and that I stayed more or less steady, but am a bit depressed my abilities have deteriorated so badly. Yes, the ultra cost me a few minutes. But hey, all of that cute spandex gave me eyestrain.πŸ™‚

My targets


I had thought about trying to catch her..she thought about her kick. Look to the right of the photos, way behind those cones.

I also chased the woman in the purple tights and her friend in the bright orange shorts. Those around those two are people doing the “2 mile” event which was designed to be accessible to those with special needs or physical handicaps.

My Building Steam group (Run to walk group) :

Vickie pacing Ellen who finished the 4 mile in 55 minutes, 5 minutes under goal.


Cathie pacing Katherine to a 51:41 finish; also well under goal.

Bradley (in the blue shirt) finishing in 50:31.

His wife Julie crushed her goal by running 48:13, but she was obscured by other runners; I could find no photo.

Friends

Jason. He beat me by 31 minutes (not an exaggeration) but..when we swim together; I eventually lap him. At least that was true last semester. Go figure. If he improves his form a bit, it won’t stay that way.

My department chair (Mat). He beat me by 9 minutes and then gave me a ride home.

June 23, 2015 - Posted by | Friends, running, swimming, weight training |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

