blueollie

avoiding tedium

No, I can’t avoid it all, but I am taking a quick break.

Today’s workout: 2 mile warm up walk (33 minutes); this included drills.
24:18 for 2.15 miles (5 x .43)
14 minute walk home

Call it 5 miles. 60 F, drizzle; somewhat chilly.

Later tonight: with the group; IF we walk. Total: maybe 2 miles, as Steamboat is on Saturday. Weather: who in the heck knows? We’ve been rained on pretty heavily, though I could go for the 60 F temperature at the start. This year: jog the 15K “with the group” just to “finish with dignity”.

Random Thoughts

I have a new office chair, though I could really go for one of these treadmill work stations.

Yes, I am doing college stuff. I am glad that I teach mathematics. The atmosphere here isn’t that bad, but I am seeing stories about administration being oversensitive to students being oversensitive. At times, it appears that one can earn “PC cred” by creatively finding a way to be offended by something.

Yes, there are also budget crunches and: well, faculty are asked to teach more students (“while not lowering quality”) because budget constraints preclude hiring new faculty, though not from hiring new administrators. Yes, the article I linked to is “parody…which represents truth” so to speak.

Politics I am pretty bored at the moment, at least with the Presidential election.
Democrats: I don’t know what effect that Senator Bernie Sanders will have; he might be a good debating partner for Secretary Hillary Clinton.
Republicans: I am not sure if I could list all of the “official” and “soon to be official” candidates. I’ll let a conservative sort if all out for you.

Who I am taking seriously: Gov. Jeb Bush, Gov. Scott Walker, Gov. Chris Christie (not announced), Gov. Bobby Jindal, Sen. Marco Rubio. My guess: Bush vs. Walker…not sure who wins. Robert Reich thinks that Walker will win.

It is WAY too early to make a prediction
I’ll just say it: I think that the 2016 map looks a lot like the 2012 one; basically Hillary Clinton was stronger than Barack Obama in all of the so-called “toss up” states except for Virginia. My “ridiculously too far out to mean” much call is for her to get somewhere between 320-360 electoral votes (270 needed to win).

June 17, 2015 - Posted by | 2016, hillary clinton, political/social, politics, racewalking | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

