blueollie

Day after…

Workout notes: I woke up sore and stiff.

TMI to follow (for my own records): I had my first BM since before the 24 hour race started; not sure what that means except that I didn’t eat that much during the race.

Back to not TMI: I figured that I’d do some light exercise. I jogged 2 miles on the treadmill in 21 minutes (11:05 first mile; sped up on the second; first 4 minutes were HARD for me but then I loosened up.

Then I went walking for 22 minutes in the Minnesota Wildlife Refuge just across the street; I made some crows very angry though they did not dive bomb me.

So that was 2 miles of running; 1 of slow hiking.

There is something about my ritual of pressing “reset” on my watch after a race; that means the last race is really over and it is time to think about the next one.

Seeing the Centurions inspired me but I have to remember that isn’t going to happen for me; if I ever want to walk 100 miles again, I should think about a 30 hour time limit and train HARD for it.

A few more photos:

DSC_4632 Ollie

Somewhere around mile 20 (I’ve moved my number to the front); my form has already started to fall apart (over striding, bent forward); that is a conditioning issue from not doing enough long walks. I said that this was “participatory” (and they didn’t judge knees at this race, thank goodness).

DSC_4577 Ollie

Early in the race, coming off of the gravel section.

DSC_4541 Ollie

Early in the race; note my support leg is nice and straight.

June 8, 2015 - Posted by | running, travel, ultra, Uncategorized, walking | , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Thank you for Sharing Ollie… You have better form than I would with my rolling walker. I am logging my mileage to walk 100 miles in 100 days for a health effort. I have been doing more than a mile a day on the average, due to my volunteer efforts. It will help when the knees get replaced.

    Comment by William Higgins | June 8, 2015 | Reply


Leave a Reply

