blueollie

Don’t ask a question you don’t want an answer to….

Workout notes: easy untimed 5K run, then a light weight workout:
pull ups: 5 sets of 10 (rotator cuff)
bench press: 3 sets of 10 with 70 pound dumbbells
military press: 3 sets of 10 with 40 pound dumbbells (standing)

Last night: 3 miles of 13-14 mpm “run/walk” with the group. I’ll say this about this year’s group: they are more motivated than groups I’ve worked with in the past; I am enjoying this year more than I have in a long time!

That was it. I am starting to feel just a bit restless.

Now about the title of my post well, an event that you’ve taken seriously is answering a question. I am not so sure I WANT the answer; living in the past is more comforting?๐Ÿ™‚
I suppose it is “nothing ventured, nothing gained.” But I go through this angst every time I do a goal race or submit a paper, etc. I remind myself that “success” means little if “failure” isn’t a possible outcome.

And that leads me to the second thing on my mind: I did ask people on the local runner’s club website about an upcoming 5K that is “geared to newcomers”. I tried to phrase my discussion in a way that wouldn’t discourage comments.

And, well, I was reminded that I often censor what I hear by making sure to only talk to people that I have some respect for.

Some of the attitudes that I am encountering: people being uncomfortable with seeing people who are better runners than they are (fast runners on their way back while you are heading out), I am seeing people suggest having finisher’s medals for the 5K. Personally, I find that amusing to condescending. But I did ask.

I suppose that is what happens when an activity opens up to more people; one sees different personality types show up, and there are certain attitudes that I simply have contempt for.

May 28, 2015 - Posted by | running, weight training |

2 Comments »

  1. I love watching the faster runners (i.e. everyone else๐Ÿ™‚ ) I find it inspirational. I think a race with all newbies would be boring. I also don’t get the metals for all. I don’t even know where my longest race medal is. I’d much rather get a medal I earned (even though that is pretty much a farce because my speed is never actually empirically fast, just a chance of poor turnout.)

    Comment by Jennifer Jacobsen-wood | May 29, 2015 | Reply

    • Medals not metals. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Comment by Jennifer Jacobsen-wood | May 29, 2015 | Reply


Leave a Reply

