blueollie

Misunderstandings…social, political and personal

Workout notes: damp, humid (80 percent), 67 F and it took me 1:33:27 to do my 8.1 mile course; my “pick it up” final mile was 11 minutes! I was about 45:40 half way; this was…well, less than a strenuous effort.

But..this effort is well in line with what the Oregon Pace Wizard has for someone who does a 25:30 5K.

easypace

That is reality. Yes, I enjoyed the run, but at times, well…if I went any slower, I’d be growing moss.

Topics
Final exams: some students have trouble understanding that their grades are

1. something that they earn and
2. reflect their performance and not what they think that they deserve.

Well, I might understand a 18-20 year old having trouble with the concept. Unfortunately, all too often, parents and administrators have trouble with this concept as well.

Misunderstanding

Some conservatives don’t like what Michelle Obama said here:

Or here.:

“You see, there are so many kids in this country who look at places like museums and concert halls and other cultural centers and they think to themselves, well, that’s not a place for me, for someone who looks like me, for someone who comes from my neighborhood. In fact, I guarantee you that right now, there are kids living less than a mile from here who would never in a million years dream that they would be welcome in this museum.”

Then, she went on to laud the Whitney for its efforts at inclusion and diversity: “And with this inaugural exhibition, the Whitney is really sending the same message to young people and to people of every background across this country. You’re telling them that their story is part of the American story, and that they deserve to be seen. And you’re sending that message not just with the art you display, but with the educational programming you run here. You’re reaching out to kids from all backgrounds, exposing them to the arts, showing them that they have something to contribute.”

It was a rather mild, if not flattering way to acknowledge a disparity while also encouraging efforts to counter it.

It is true; sometimes we are “class bound” when it comes to thinking “this activity isn’t for people like me”. In fact, it is useful to inform people that “yes, this place is for you too, IF you want it to be.” As far as the video, I hear what she is saying and I think that her message is positive.

She isn’t making excuses; she is acknowledging the discomfort that some of our neighbors have to push through.

Tribes

gunsign

To me, this is a sign about what sort of people this business wishes to attract and that they wish to keep people like me away; it is a nice signal for me to look elsewhere. I have no problem with it.

May 15, 2015 - Posted by | politics, politics/social, running, social/political

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

