blueollie

What to do…not recovering fully…

Last night our “walk to run” group warmed up with 5 minutes of walking and did 1-1 “1 walk, 1 run..ok…65-55 seconds really” and finished 3 miles in 41:30. Yeah, that is slow by runner’s standards, but better than some of the pace groups that are supposed to be faster than ours.šŸ™‚ And our group is getting better.

That was easy for me (I had 6 miles earlier that morning for my own workout). But this morning: my legs were still slightly achy and heavy. So I warmed up with 1 mile of walking and then jogged oh…let’s see: about 5.2 miles in..a ghastly 58 minutes.

3 loops plus

That was 11:15 mpm for a hilly course…right at what my recovery pace is “supposed to be”. Reading that makes me feel sick.

Still, that is one thing I am going to have to accept: do distance and my 5K will suffer and do the 5K and forget about the very long distances. What’s it going to be?

The positive: it was a glorious, chilly and sunny morning.
And I had enough left in the tank to get some weights afterward:

5 sets of 10 pull ups (4 around rotator cuff exercises and the final one after bench.
bench: 10 x 135, 1 x 180 (strong, but didn’t push), 5 x 170, 8 x 160 (rotator cuff)
military: 3 sets of 10 x 40 dumbbell standing
super set: rows (3 sets of 10 with 110) and pull downs: 3 sets of 10 x 150 (double pulley machine)

May 1, 2015 - Posted by | running, walking, weight training |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

