blueollie

I think that the training is working but…

Well, today my legs were sore so I jogged an easy 5 miles (hilly), walked 1 and then lifted. I did not have the clock running and I really did NOT want to know how slowly I was moving. The course: 5.1 plus 1.24 loop.

But I was fresh when got to the weight room and it showed.
pull ups: 5 sets of 10 (rotator cuff); reasonably strong.
incline bench (super set with Hammer rows): 3 sets of 10 x 135, rows: 10 x 200 (3 sets)
military: 1 set of 10 x 40 standing after:
2 sets of 10 x 100 (machine, each arm), 3 sets of pull downs (10 x 130)

As far as the “training is starting to work” last Sunday’s “sort of long” walk (14 miles) WAS easier than last time even though the pace was the slightly faster and I was on a harder course. That IS a good sign. But my short runs are suffering a bit.

That, I suppose, comes with the territory. I can train for short running or long walking but NOT both at the same time. If others my age can, I salute them. But I can’t.

Steamboat 15K
One of my female Facebook friends signed up for the 15K for the first time. My advice to her: “wear the tightest, most transparent spandex you’ve got”.🙂

Ok, I didn’t say that. But I should have.🙂

April 29, 2015 - Posted by | running, training, walking |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

