blueollie

Some metrics on fitness

In September of 1999 (at 40 years of age): half marathon in 1:34:16 (7:11 pace), then the first 20 miles of the Quad Cities in 2:37 (7:51 pace; crashed and finished in 3:45…bad cramps).

Today: ONE mile at 7:50 was, while not all out, challenging. I did hit the halves in 3:55 each. Yes, I did this right after lifting weights and that had a minor negative effect.

In September of 1986 (27 years of age): in the bench press I got 11 reps with bodyweight (230 lbs). Today: 3 reps (3 x 180); probably could have gotten 1 more had I used a spotter. I weighed 180.0 on the gym scale prior to the workout.

15 years and 28 years can make a difference in what one can do. At times, it feels as if someone stuck a straw under my skin and sucked all of the muscle mass right out.

Nevertheless, I have some goals set up. One will be to walk the Peoria Marathon this October. The next (tentative) will be the McNotAgain 30 mile (hilly, trail) about 3-4 weeks later. And for the final..stay tuned.🙂 I might try to combine a longish (marathon or possibly longer) event with a football game over the winter..somewhere south. So, I need to build up my long walks this summer; I am at 14 miles (22.5 km) right now.

April 25, 2015 - Posted by | running, weight training | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

