blueollie

I am not a runner, not a walker, not a lifter, not a swimmer…certainly not an ultra marathoner…

And I am ok with that.

My current “physical activity” routine:
M, F: swim (2200 yards, or 2000 meters)
Tu, Th: run (about 10K each) and lift weights (40 minutes to 1 hour)
W: walk (about 8-10K)
Sat: run (10K or a 5K race); sometimes lift afterward.
Sun: walk (10 miles to half marathon at the moment; longer walks are planned in the near future)

So, I do a little of several things but not enough of any activity to get reasonably good at it.

As far as the ultras go: I have friends who continue to do these. Personally: I like to think that I paid a visit to these activities starting with a 50K in 2002; I probably peaked in 2005 (two 100 mile finishes) and slid downward pretty severely in 2006 and have pretty much flopped since then. I did have one more 100 mile finish in me (2009; severe mud; took me almost 48 hours) and a 50 miler in 2011 (at a 24 hour race).

I am not really an ultra athlete; I “visited” that sport and eventually became too weak to pursue it further, save a 30 miler here or there. My goal is ONE marathon (or longer) per year; 2012 I had a bad walking marathon finish, 2013 a bad “walk/jog” marathon finish and a bad 30 mile finish last year. But I’ve kept the streak alive since 1998.

Anyway, about my physical activities:

1) I enjoy them.
2) I am staying out of the doctor’s office
3) I still enjoy testing myself in events lasting 7 minutes to just over 2 hours (my half marathon these-a-days; I have NOT run a half marathon faster than 2 hours since…my goodness, 2003? My last “good” half (sub 1:45) was in 2002 (a couple of them) and my last sub 1:40 was in 2001.

I won’t kid you: I was never good at any sport, but right now, I really don’t have a “primary” sport. What I do is I go through cycles when I emphasize one goal or another; my guess is that I’ll aim for a marathon walk in October and therefore move to doing more walking..sometime this summer. But most of the time, I have a “generic, a little of everything” routine.

April 17, 2015 - Posted by | running, swimming, walking, weight training | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

