blueollie

Making the decision to suck…(glorious morning!)

Last night, I went to bed amid flashes of lightning. It kept out throughout the night, so I decided to walk 5 miles on the treadmill when I woke up.

When I woke up; there was a break in the thunderstorms. The roads were wet, but it was one of those mornings where the sunrise caused the sky to be a wonderful collection of colors, including pink, light red, blue gray with the darker gray of the lower clouds racing across the sky.

I couldn’t resist; I ditched my “harder” treadmill miles for a slower 4.2 mile (6.6 km) hilly park course outside. It was rather slow and taken at a recovery effort; it was less training that I had planned.

But I did this one for my emotional health; it was just too lovely to resist.

So, this is one reason my running and walking performances are less than what they might be; these-a-days I make many small decisions such as this one.

Another decision: I stayed up later than normal to watch basketball games (men and women NCAA championships).

But let’s face it: for a 55 year old man, running a 24:45 5K isn’t that much different from running a 25:05; I no longer make every training decision based on improving my level of (sub)mediocrity. 🙂

April 8, 2015 - Posted by | running, walking | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

