blueollie

Scottish Independence: not going to happen…this time anyway

It has become a rout on the sports books:

independentscots

What continues to amuse me is how so many people will predict something will happen on the strength that they want it to happen. This appears to be a bipartisan phenomena.

September 18, 2014 Posted by | world events | | Leave a comment

Photos from Constantinople ….er….Istanbul ….

bluemosque

babsinconstantinople

No, I am very much here in the US..at work even. But Barbara is enjoying herself.

September 18, 2014 Posted by | family, travel | | Leave a comment

e-mailing professors and “students of today”

Workout notes
Weights plus 5 mile treadmill run (protecting the foot) Foot: oh so slightly sore after.
weights:
pull ups: 5 sets of 10 (ok) with rotator cuff and McKenzie
bench: 10 x 135, 3 x 180 (weak), 9 x 160 (rotator cuff)
incline: 10 x 135
military/pull down/row super set:
military: 3 sets of 10 x 40 dumbbell (standing)
pull down: 3 sets of 7 traditional, 7 low (160/100)
row: 3 sets of 10 x 65 dumbbell (single arm)
Hip hikes, achilles.

I was a sweaty mess (45 minutes) and then I ran.
started with 5.6-5.7…increased every 2 minutes until I got to 7…started to die. 20:15 at 2, then I did some 6/6.7 every .25 miles.
Total: 47:55 for 5; this was more work than I had anticipated.

Academia:
This is a good guide on how to NOT e-mail your professor (fictional student; e-mail is a collage of actual e-mails)

The professor says something interesting:

And before you go thinking that Anderson is publicly shaming the student: ‘cartmanrulez99′ a fictional creation, based on “two or three poor emails put together,” explains Anderson on YouTube. “I would never post an email of a student to the Internet nor would I suggest anyone else ever doing that.”

Yep. But this is interesting too (emphasis mine):

Moreover, he adds, he’s not youth-bashing. “In my opinion, each and every generation is smarter than the previous generation,” he writes. “I have seen that first-hand in my twenty years of teaching. If you think that there were no dumb people in the past, think again.”

The emphasis is ABSOLUTELY NOT TRUE FOR ME; that is, the current students don’t appear to be smarter to me. BUT….there are mitigating factors at play here:

1. I went to a very selective undergraduate institution. Then I served in the Nuclear Navy; my fellow officers were taken from the upper 20 percent of graduating classes in engineering and science programs. Then I got my Ph. D. at a division I research place.

Therefore, the average student I see at my “median ACT of 25, median calculus ACT of 29-30” isn’t as talented as the people that I went to college and beyond with.

2. We teach service courses including mathematics for non-technical majors. See point 1.

BUT: it is true that today’s A student is pretty good, at least the A students in mathematics and science are.

And yes, we had presumptuous idiots in my day too…though we didn’t have e-mail until I was almost done with graduate school. 🙂

3. Concerning the 20 plus years I’ve been here: we’ve had ebbs and flows in student quality. The current class appears to be an “up” class. This ebb and flow probably wouldn’t be seen by a professor who teaches at an elite university or at a larger state university.

September 18, 2014 Posted by | education, running, social/political, weight training | | Leave a comment

Misconceptions: chimps, kids and assault weapons

This New York Times Sunday Review article states what was long well known: one is far more likely to get killed by small handguns than by assault rifles. Assault rifles make big news in the spectacular but relatively rare events. But: this does not mean that there is no such thing as assault weapons. This means that banning them won’t make much of a dent in gun death statistics.

Speaking of violence: It sure appears as if chimps are naturally violent toward one another. Some argue that “effect by human intervention” has not been controlled for, but seriously, this “noble savage” stuff is nonsense.

Spanking Data seems to indicate that “spare the rod, spoil the child” is nonsense.

September 18, 2014 Posted by | evolution, nature, science, social/political | , | Leave a comment