blueollie

Case study of why preliminary rants should be done in private….

Workout notes: weights plus running on the treadmill.
weights: 5 x 10 pull ups (first 2 sets: stiff), Achilles plus hip hikes
bench press: 10 x 135, 3 x 180 (weak), 9 x 160 (weak) (rotator cuff)
inline: 10 x 135 (ok) (rotator cuff)
military: dumbbell, seated, supported: 2 sets of 12 x 50
rows: 3 sets of 10 x 65 each arm (dumbbell)
military: 10 x 40 dumbbell, standing.
military: 7 x 85 barbell
pull downs: 3 sets of (7 x 160 traditional, 7 x 100 low)

running: 6 miles on treadmill in 59:45, .21 walk.
how: 5 minutes at 0.5 at 5.5, 1.0 at 5.6, 1.0 at 5.7, 1.0 at 5.8
then 1.5 at 10 mpm, 2 at 10 mpm this got me to 30 minutes
then at 2 I went 6.1-6.2-6.3-6.4
then drop to 1.5-1-0.5 going to 6.5, 6.6, 6.7

Reason: my heel (right) is sore again; the relief was fool’s gold. Evidently I’ve subtly changed my gait to go more on my toes when walking and running.
So, I’ll need to be very careful so that this doesn’t ruin my September 28 marathon. More taper, less training.

Title of the post
I had signed up for a payment plan for my daughter’s university (so I thought) but then got a “money due” bill. WTF?
I was all in a self righteous lather about “the incompetence of others”.

So I did some digging around.

It turns out: my account number: I had left off the leading zeros on my check. *I* had screwed up.

Fortunately, only my wife was subject to my rather embarrassing self-righteous anger (I didn’t vent AT her but she witnessed my generic “the whole world is incompetent except for ME” rant.)
Well, I guess there is one less exception, huh? 😉

September 11, 2014 Posted by | running, social/political, weight training | , | Leave a comment

Illusions, drought images, space images, GMO’s on the organic aisle…

This is an interesting optical illusion: the lines are actually straight and parallel.

parallellines

This is what is going on.

California drought: get a load of these “active” before/after photos. Use the slider to change the “normal” to “drought conditions” photos.

Enjoy these incredible astronomy photos, many from our solar system.

GMO: yes, stuff that is now labeled “organic” really is GMO.

September 11, 2014 Posted by | astronomy, nature, science | , , , | Leave a comment