blueollie

6:30 a mile mind, 8:30 a mile body

Workout notes weights plus treadmill run after.
Weights: pull ups 15-15-10-10 (hip hikes, Achilles)
Bench: 10 x 135, 3 x 180, 9 x 160 (weak)
military: seated, supported dumbbell: 2 sets of 12 x 50, standing, unsupported: 2 sets of 10 x 40
rows: 3 sets of dumbbell rows: 10 x 65, 1 set of 10 x 200 Hammer
pull down: 3 sets of 7 x 160 traditional, 7 x 100 low.
McKenzie.

Run: treadmill to protect the foot: (.5 elevation) 20:47 2 mile, then 29:44, 38:33, 47:14, 55:50, 57:55 for 6.21 (10K).
That was enough to get me tired and sweaty.

Commentary: I run, swim and walk for time. I also follow others who do (Julie, Tammy, Ray, Damon, David, are some of them)

All of these folks have hit performances I’ll never reach. But that isn’t the main point; I just like to see what they are up to and to get some vicarious enjoyment via their race/activity reports.

I also follow what other local people are doing. Most of us have ups and downs; we peak, get on a roll…but that comes to an end and our performance goes down into a valley. Often, we get out of the valley…though as we get older, we don’t quite get all of the way out. Then the next slide down takes us a bit lower…we climb back out…but not quite to the same level as before.

I know that my mind gets stuck in the past and there is still a bit of Walter Mitty in me that thinks that I’ll climb all of the way out. But that won’t happen; it turns out that those who are my current age (55) who run the times that I used to run in my late 30’s were college level runners in their youth.

Evidently I am not alone in having a mind that is beyond my body. At this weekend’s half marathon, a friend was running part of the relay. In her mid to late 40’s, in peak condition, she was a 26-27 minute 5K runner. But she went through some health issues and life challenges and, while she still looks good compared to most women her age, she isn’t in her top running shape.

She started out ahead of me; I caught her on an uphill (I was walking, and walking is more efficient going up hills) and she blew past me going down. But then came the next long, long uphill and I went past her again. Then about midway up, I heard her breathing behind me…..heavy breathing. I thought “this isn’t going to last long” and then soon I heard her say “ok, Friend, you win.” Evidently her mind is ahead of where her body currently is. I sure know that feeling.

And I’ll have to remember that in my upcoming walking marathon. I’d love to walk a 12 minute pace again, but I last did that in 2009 back when I had trained for and finished a muddy 100 miler. I am NOT in that kind of shape, and I am 5 years older. That is reality. For me, 5:30 (12:30 mpm) would be an excellent time; I should probably shoot for 2:40 for a first half split, then 2:50 for the second half. If I go out in 2:25-2:30 for the first half, I’ll die before mile 20 and be unable to finish the race.

September 9, 2014 Posted by | blogs, marathons, running, weight training | | Leave a comment

Current events: why people post what they do on their walls…

I am throwing out a conjecture that I have no evidence for.

When it comes to sensational events in the news (e. g. Ferguson shooting, NFL domestic violence incident, etc.), many of my Facebook friends post something. But, it appears to me, that many of the posts seem to be aimed at:

1. getting approval from like minded people
2. appearing to be virtuous or righteous
3. seeking praise or approval

Than anything else. There seems to be an indifference to looking for nuances or completeness of view as, well, doing that doesn’t result in pats on the back. 🙂

So, I find myself commenting on other people’s “issues” related status less and less; mostly I just let them yell or cheerlead.

September 9, 2014 Posted by | politics/social | , | Leave a comment

Why I am indifferent to the Ray Rice NFL incident…

Of course, I am opposed to domestic violence; people who commit domestic violence have committed a crime and that crime should be prosecuted.

It turns out that an NFL player was seen on tape punching his then fiance (now his WIFE) and, while he had a 2 game suspension prior to this, has now been cut from his team.

Yes, his fiance hit him first, prior to them getting on the elevator. He then hit her, but did so in the elevator. Clearly, his blow wasn’t an immediate retaliation or an reflexive punch back. She assaulted him (weakly) and he cold cocked her, but later.

So, he committed a crime (so I’d think).

And the Ravens made a PR move (and probably a team cohesion move as well) to release him.

Fine, so far. Yes, there are some screamers going on about how the NFL is “misogynistic”, blah, blah, blah, but there is no evidence that NFL players are more criminally violent than other males of the same age and socio-economic background.

I’ve discussed the ethics of retaliatory striking back here.

But overall, my attitude is “what does his being an NFL player have to do with anything?”

Think about it: the vast majority of those who beat their spouses (or partners) are people that few have ever heard of. Do you do a background check to ensure your garbage man isn’t a wife beater? How about your waiter, clerk, bank official, secretary, plumber, doctor, lawyer or office coworker?

The bottom line: in our day to day lives, we judge those we interact with by how well they do the jobs we contract them to do, so why should it be different for entertainers (which is what a professional athlete is anyway)?

To me, this incident is far more troubling.

September 9, 2014 Posted by | NFL, social/political | , | Leave a comment