blueollie

JT’s race against Melanoma

Screen shot 2014-07-26 at 10.46.43 AM

Ok, not pretty. But it is still only 26 days after blood donation (10-15 days before I get all of my red cells back) and conditions were tough; the winner came in a 22 minutes (way slow for a 5K race); my placement (15 out of 55, 9 out of 23 males) wasn’t that bad.

Temperature: 73 F, 79 percent humidity.

Screen shot 2014-07-26 at 11.03.30 AM

How it went: I got to the Riverplex, stretched my back, did 5 minutes on the bike to warm up my knee (plus hip hikes and step ups) and 1 mile on the treadmill. Then I jogged one mile to the start line.

A MILF in transparent lime green leggings (with the dreaded long shirt, which didn’t quite cover everything) gave us instructions. I retied my shoes and kind of zoned out, only to find her right in front of me. I thought “oh crap, she caught me looking” but she only wanted to know my age group.

I started off and thought I was taking it easy; it felt tough to breathe. I just don’t do well in these conditions. I passed the little kids who died by going too fast. Mile one came at 8:25, and even that felt like too much. Still I kept waiting for runners to be on their way back and that came later than expected.

Finally I saw them; we turned around the boats and I was already dying. I told myself “no walking until at least mile 2 (8:57 later; 17:23) and I barely made it. I walked 10 seconds or so, resumed at was at 1 mile to go at 18:09. I tried to pick it up but had to walk a few more steps with 3/4 mile to go…then at half mile to go, two women passed me. &*^%$ I tried to stay with them figuring that I could out kick them with 1/4 mile to go..but when I got there, I just wanted to finish the race without passing out. πŸ™‚

I managed that..and then walked around to cool down.

I noticed that they had some farmer’s market/organic food set up. There was a parking lot perhaps 200 meters away (if that) and there was a FREE SHUTTLE from that lot to the market.

Sure, I can see that for the elderly, the handicapped, those with orthopedic injuries and those with severe health problems (e. g. chemo patients, severe anemia) but…well, from the number of people on the shuttle, there was either a group from a hospital there or there were people too lazy to walk 200 meters.

Hey, if I have a bad race, I can always feel self righteous by looking down on the slackers, right? πŸ™‚

Then I went to the awards ceremony, got a quick bite to eat, walked back to the Riverplex. Some GILF was walking out of the Riverplex and saw me walking in; she said “You look TIRED”. Well, I grinned and said “yes” (she was wearing yoga pants, hence I was friendly).

I did 10 minutes on the bike (seems to help the knees) and then walked back to my car.

I saw where my former yoga teacher had left a “good morning” note on my car; that felt nice.

July 26, 2014 - Posted by | running | , , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. Sounds like that was a pretty small race.

    I always feel awkward taking that shuttle, but I go to the farmer’s market with my dad & he has a difficult time walking, even short distances. Plus, now that they serve alcohol, I might get to too blotto to drive. πŸ™‚ (inside joke – one commenter on fb was complaining about people possibly getting drunk on $8 bloody Mary’s from martinis. )

    Comment by jenjw4 | July 27, 2014 | Reply

    • I wasn’t talking about the elderly and those with them. But I am astonished at how many either can’t or don’t want to walk a couple of hundred yards.

      Comment by blueollie | July 27, 2014 | Reply

  2. […] 27:06 68F, 65 percent 27:41 73F, 69 percent 27:23 74 F, 67 percent […]

    Pingback by Tempo workout and delusions « blueollie | August 2, 2014 | Reply

  3. […] 68F, 65 percent 27:41 73F, 69 percent 27:23 74 F, 67 percent 25:53, 70 F, 72 […]

    Pingback by Duck Race 5K « blueollie | August 10, 2014 | Reply

  4. […] 68F, 65 percent 27:41 73F, 69 percent 27:23 74 F, 67 percent 25:53, 70 F, 72 percent 26:38, 78F, 87 […]

    Pingback by Hanna City Hustle 2014 version « blueollie | August 23, 2014 | Reply

  5. […] 68F, 65 percent 27:41 73F, 69 percent 27:23 74 F, 67 percent 25:53, 70 F, 72 percent 26:38, 78F, 87 percent 26:38 (head cold, slightly long course) 25:53 (head […]

    Pingback by Unplanned 5K: Strides for Justice « blueollie | September 27, 2014 | Reply

  6. […] I was about 30 seconds slower than last year, and last year, it was not quite as hot. […]

    Pingback by JT’s run: HOT « blueollie | July 18, 2015 | Reply


Leave a Reply

