blueollie

Why did anyone think of me when they saw this?

fk140506

May 6, 2014 Posted by | blog humor, blogs, humor | , | Leave a comment

BENGHAZI!!!!!!!!!!!!

This is but one reason I don’t take Republicans and Fox News seriously. They are a joke.

May 6, 2014 Posted by | republicans, social/political | | Leave a comment

Start of final exam week run.

Screen shot 2014-05-06 at 9.04.44 AM

I ran with Mat: it was a nice 8.25 mile run (42 minutes out, 39 back; 1:21:43 total) and a cool day for it. I like this course.
Thursday: shorter and harder.

We discussed department stuff; I am going to be busy this summer.

I liked the course enough to name it at the USATF site.

Normally, I can’t stay with Mat, but he got pneumonia a few months ago and that is still limiting him; still he did well.

May 6, 2014 Posted by | Friends, running | | Leave a comment

Mooning the Supreme Court for their “town prayer” decision ….

This is for you, Supreme Court…at least for the conservative justices…

(ok, I admit that when I was taking yoga class our teacher tried to lead us in this type of stretch. I was walking into class (several minutes before it started and the teacher was facing away, practicing this…she looked between her legs, saw me and said “hi” and I think I kind of giggled..)

Still, back to the decision, which was 5-4:

In a major decision on the role of religion in government, the Supreme Court on Monday ruled that the Constitution allows town boards to start their sessions with sectarian prayers. The ruling, by a 5-to-4 vote, divided the court’s more conservative members from its liberal ones, and their combative opinions reflected very different views of the role of faith in public life, in contemporary society and in the founding of the Republic.

Justice Anthony M. Kennedy, writing for the majority, said that a town in upstate New York had not violated the Constitution by starting its public meetings with a prayer from a “chaplain of the month” who was almost always Christian and who sometimes used distinctly sectarian language. The prayers were ceremonial, Justice Kennedy wrote, and served to signal the solemnity of the occasion.

The ruling cleared the way for sectarian prayers before meetings of local governments around the nation with only the lightest judicial supervision.

Justice Antonin Scalia of the Supreme Court speaking at an event in Washington in 2012.Sidebar: For Justices, Free Speech Often Means ‘Speech I Agree With’MAY 5, 2014
The decision built on one from 1983 that allowed prayers at the start of legislative sessions. The two sides on Monday disagreed about whether town board meetings, which include not only lawmakers and spectators but also citizens seeking to do business with the government, are meaningfully different from legislative sessions.

The issue wasn’t that there was a type of prayer of some sort, but that the prayers at this meeting were deeply sectarian. However the town council did say that they attempted to recruit a variety of chaplains.

I am not qualified to rule on constitutionality, of course.

Interestingly, though I don’t like this decision, I am probably not as upset as those of minority faiths. To me, one form of superstitious mumbo-jumbo is not much different than another. I treat public prayers with an eyeroll. But to other “believers”, one person’s prayer might be blasphemy or evil.

Example: check out this prayer said before a rally for then candidate McCain; when they said this I had to work to keep from laughing out loud.

May 6, 2014 Posted by | big butts, religion, Republican, SCOTUS, social/political, spandex | , | Leave a comment