blueollie

One remark on training while past one’s peak years

Workout notes full weight workout followed by 40 minutes on an elliptical trainer

precor-EFX546i-hero

I like this type.

On the elliptical: I warmed up a bit and then stuck to the “glute” (high cross ramp; 10 to 15) because, well…that is the weakest part of me. Many of my back/piriformis troubles come from my having a small, weak butt. People have suggested that I have a simian like appearance both in face and posture:

In addition to springs, endurance running requires more stabilization of the trunk than walking does. Members of the genus Homo have substantial gluteus maximus (butt) muscles. Those muscles have numerous large attachments from the hip to the base of the spine. In Australopithecus fossils, though, the muscle has a much more limited area of attachment. If you’ve seen a chimpanzee in trousers, you know how baggy they look. Chimpanzees are gluteally challenged as well. Large butt muscles are not only better looking in pants; they also make for efficient energy transfer during running by stabilizing each hip. But the muscles are not used for walking on level ground.

In short, I need to focus less on her butt and more on mine. 🙂

But (pardon the pun), I’ve never had any luck in developing mine; any program I’ve tried has always ended in injury.

The weights went …well…so so.
I did the usual rotator cuff/hip hike/Achilles/MacKenzie stuff

pull ups: 15-10-10-10-5 (normal; good quality here)
Abs (super set with bench and incline presses): 3 sets of 10 of twist, sit back, vertical crunch, crunch.
bench: 10 x 135, 7 x 170, 7 x 170 (weak)
incline: 2 sets of 10 x 140 (normal)
military (dumbbell): 3 sets of 12 x 50 (seated, supported) (normal)
dumbbell row (single arm, bent over): 3 sets of 10 x 65 lb.
dumbbell row (upright, two dumbbells): 3 sets of 10 x 20 lb.
pull down: 2 sets of 10 x 160, 1 set of 10 x 140 (wider grip)
curl: 3 sets of 10 x 70 (machine).

Note: the bench press was weak. Now that could be because I’ve dropped below 190 pounds in body weight. It could be that I got out of practice over the past 2 weeks (and lifts get heavier when one is more practiced in the given motion). Or it could be because I am weaker.

I’d rather it not be the latter, but when one gets into the 50’s and one has been training for a long time, one DOES get weaker with time; it can’t be helped. Doing multiple sets of 7-10 with 225-240 used to be routine for me. Now, I couldn’t do a single one.

I used to be able to get 27 pull ups. Now a set of 15 is a chore.

I suppose it doesn’t really matter; after all I was never that good and it isn’t as if I am training to keep a spot on an NFL team. But attitude DOES affect my lifting; I lift better if I am excited or just a tad angry. If I am depressed or down (as I am now), my lifting suffers, and the thought “oh **it, I am getting weaker” plays with your mind and becomes self-fulfilling.

Oh well…in 8 weeks or so, the worst should be over (winter; the cold, dark winters usually get me down; if you follow my blog you’ll notice that I whine about winter A LOT).

grumpyiscold

And the spring races will come…and at my speed (8-8:20 mpm for a 5K), there is usually something to look forward to.

thankyou11

January 7, 2014 - Posted by | big butts, spandex, weight training, whining | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

