blueollie

Half Marathon massacre ….

Ok, it was almost perfect running weather. But yesterday’s decent 5K (decent for me anyway) followed by last night’s football game (started at 7 pm, ended just after 10, then after the 2 hour trip home (walk to the car, 90 minute drive on I-74) meant that I didn’t get to sleep until 1230 am; and woke up at 5 am.

1. At my level of training, a 13 mile run the day after a race has to be SLOW as in, 11 mpm slow.
2. At my level of training, I will suck after only 4:30 worth of sleep.
3. At my level of running, a 10 minute per mile pace is no longer “ridiculously easy”. It used to be. It isn’t anymore.

Then:

Screen shot 2013-10-20 at 11.42.42 AM

NOW:

Screen shot 2013-10-20 at 11.41.23 AM

(via: Team Oregon Pace Wizard)

Hey, didn’t I once run a 19:53 5K on Saturday and a 1:39 half marathon on Sunday? Yes, in 1998 when I was training 50 miles a week, consistently.
Yes, I ran a 44 minute 10K on Saturday night and a 1:42 half marathon on Sunday….in 2000 when I was training for my marathon (3:38).

I am NOT in that kind of shape now.

So: encouragement, friends and cute spandex weren’t enough to get me past mile 7. I was right at 1:06 half way and finished in 2:27; I walked some at mile 7 and some on Main Street and most of the last 3.

My legs just KILLED me; the thighs really, really ached; this was a “depletion ache”.

Here I am at about mile 10.5 in my “all walking” mode:

powerwalkingitinkomenoct2013

For some reason, I can maintain better posture when I am running. (fatigue leading to bad habits?)

But there was some amusing and interesting things too.

1. I saw the leader (and eventual winner) way ahead of people; I actually sat at the same table after the race and had a pleasant chat.

2. At about mile 10 a friend (who was running a relay leg) passed me. She actually said this aloud: “now, don’t you dog it just so you can run “behind” me”. Yeah, she had on her tights but unfortunately she had tied her jacket around her waist, thereby obscuring what I love to see. 🙂

3. In the civic center I sat down at a table (where the winner was) and had juice, yogurt and fruit. A woman joined us briefly; I noticed that she had race number “1”.

I said “I just noticed your race number”; I didn’t want to pry but she WANTED to talk. She is a breast cancer survivor (this was Komen event) and she mentioned that a year ago she had radiation treatment and could barely move at all; when I described someone who was a 17 minute 5K runner going to the 30’s after treatment, she said “that is about right”. So now she can run again, albeit not at the same level, though she never quit exercising.

Suddenly my un-athletic thighs didn’t seem like such a burden.

October 20, 2013 - Posted by | running |

5 Comments »

  1. I haven’t seen Komen results yet, but how fast was that first runner? We were trying to guess his pace when he passed the Sole Sisters Sweet Spot (we were by Lower Bradley Park and probably 5 miles in?) Based on the time he went by us, we figured he was averaging about six mpm.

    Perspective can be a great thing. There are three REALLY old guys (like upper 80’s) who attend physical therapy at the same time as me. While I am trying to do squats on a bosu ball, they are shuffling around in a circle and sitting down, standing up; common movements I do without even thinking. It makes me ashamed of all my “poor me- groin-muscle-pull” whining.

    Comment by jennifer J-W | October 20, 2013 | Reply

    • I don’t know how fast he was.

      Perspective: sure thing. I keep reminding myself that I am going through ATHLETIC frustration, not anything serious.

      Comment by blueollie | October 20, 2013 | Reply

  2. […] yes, I really sucked more than normal that […]

    Pingback by A Half Marathon Finisher’s medal comes in the mail…. « blueollie | November 9, 2013 | Reply

  3. […] it was better than I did last year; that is about […]

    Pingback by Komen Half Marathon 2014: tired of the hilly courses « blueollie | October 18, 2014 | Reply

  4. […] Oh well, what did I expect. At 58, I should be grateful that I am out there at all. I am debating whether next Saturday’s workout should be a “faster 15” or a “slower 20” as it is two weeks prior to Quad Cities…I want to get it this time!!!! There is a local half marathon on Sunday, BUT the Illinois vs. Western Kentucky game kicks off at 7 and I won’t get home until after midnight…and the half has a 7am start. I suppose that IF I wake up on my own by 5, I’ll just register “same day” and do my best. The last time I tried that, it did not go well. […]

    Pingback by Goat rant 1: long walk… « blueollie | September 3, 2017 | Reply


Leave a Reply

