blueollie

Cultural Norms and Visible Underwear

On Facebook, there was a spirited discussion about this sign:

Screen shot 2013-04-07 at 8.56.05 AM

I see this sign as sort of a “no shoes, no shirt, no service” sign, and in the United States, we tend to give businesses this freedom, to a point. For example, if someone were say, offended by a yarmulke, I doubt if they could refuse service.

So, where does one find the balance when it comes to non-safety related social conventions? That is interesting.

And frankly, we have something of a double standard when it comes to visible underwear. For example we see this all the time:

Screen shot 2013-04-07 at 8.57.28 AM

Screen shot 2013-04-07 at 9.02.08 AM

Once, I was at a convenience store and got to the register at roughly the same time as this lady. She offered to let me ahead of her in line but I deferred; “I’m good mam”. She was wearing black runners tights which were basically thin enough to have been pantyhose; her bikini undies were just shining right through. πŸ™‚

Or, there was the time when my slightly overweight wife decided that snug khaki pants would be ok to wear over bright green granny panties; when she got to the Indian buffet line I just broke out in laughter. She just gave me a dirty look.

But seriously, what is the difference? Why is one display of undergarments ok and another not?

I am not complaining; this is a social custom question (why is one behavior a norm and a similar behavior offensive) that is interesting to me.

April 7, 2013 - Posted by | big butts, social/political, spandex | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

