blueollie

The older I get the faster I used to be…false memories

This post by Mano Singham reminded me of one of my favorite “false memories”.

No, I was never a good runner; my best short distance races were: a 5:30 mile, 18:57 5K (course? 19:27 on a certified course later that year) and 39:50 for a 10K (Azalea Trail 10K in Mobile, Alabama in 1982).

But I remember trying to get faster and one night, on the Pensacola Junior College track, I “remembered” doing a glorious 8 x 400 meter interval workout, with each 400 being under 75 seconds. What a sweet memory!

Later it occurred to me that I would have been running faster times had I really been able to do that workout.

Eventually, I discovered my old training logs…and looked it up
1. the 8 x 400 workout itself was true; but I did them all in the low 80 second range.
2. I did an 8 x 200 workout where I averaged just under 37 seconds, but that is hardly the same thing.
3. I did ONE workout where I finished ONE 400 in 76 seconds. Not 8…ONE.

Evidently I had set 8 x 400 in 75 AS A GOAL and, over time, it “became” what I actually did.
Unfortunately my memories of being nearly dead last in a 1983 marathon were all too accurate. :-)

Time: 4:24, but that was a “sag wagon” time in those days.

February 21, 2013 - Posted by | running, social/political | ,

1 Comment »

  1. […] tendency to remember things that it wants to remember? False memories are “real” and it has happened to me in far more benign situations. As Professor Tavris says, the human mind is designed to remember the “gist” of things, […]

    Pingback by Honesty and accuracy, and listening to your social adversaries « blueollie | July 10, 2015 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 675 other followers

