blueollie

Hoover Presidential Museum today…

Workout notes: weights only; I lifted at the Riverplex so I could be ready to go by 8:30 am. Pull ups: slightly more problematic; 3 sets of 10, then one multi-grip (changed grips) set of 3-1-3, then a set of 5 then one set of 5 plus 5. I did rows with the dumbbells (55 pounds, each arm), bench: 10 x 135, 4 x 180, 3 x 180, 3 x 180, 6 x 170, incline: 8 x 135, 7 x 135, pull downs (3 sets of 10 with 155), and I did military presses with the seated machine that used free weights: 10 x 90, 10 x 130, 6 x 180. No, I couldn’t come close to using 180 on a bar.

I did the usual sit ups and added lunches and did curls with the machine.

Posts
Once again, Paul Krugman points out that running a private equity company doesn’t mean you understand the economy as a whole.

Dummies
If you look at the comments, someone challenged me to a boxing match (with headgear). What this person doesn’t realize is that he didn’t understand what my post was about: I was making the case that getting educated does help you think, but it also makes you intellectually overconfident; in short, most educated people I know (myself included) are “smart idiots” at times. Being able to understand complicated stuff in one area speaks to your inherent intellectual abilities, but it can lead to overconfidence when one looks at an area beyond one’s specialization. Example: I probably did better on my SAT/ACT tests than most football coaches. But that doesn’t mean that I understand football the way that they do, and it would take me years of concentrated effort to catch up to them in that area…IF I were ever able to at all. Oh yes: my argument that this “smart idiot” syndrome was NOT just about conservatives; it applies to liberals as well.

But my intellectually lazy reader didn’t read much beyond my headline…or didn’t understand what they read. ๐Ÿ™‚

Hoover Museum
My daughter and I went to the Hoover Museum. Upshot: he wasn’t my favorite President, but his bad reputation came mostly from the circumstances he stumbled into (that weren’t of his own making). He also did a lot of good in dealing with the effects of wartime famine.

July 13, 2012 - Posted by | Barack Obama, blog humor, blogs, economy, weight training

3 Comments »

  1. […] Clinton library (my report) The Harry Truman Library (my brief report) The Herbert Hoover museum (my brief report and longer report) The Lincoln Library and Museum (my […]

    Pingback by The George H. W. Bush Library and Museum « blueollie | June 10, 2013 | Reply

  2. […] Clinton library (my report) The Harry Truman Library (my brief report) The Herbert Hoover museum (my brief report and longer report) The Lincoln Library and Museum (my report and another report) The George H. W. […]

    Pingback by George W. Bush Library and Museum « blueollie | January 1, 2014 | Reply

  3. […] Lincoln (here and here) Rutherford B. Hayes Herbert Hoover (here and here) Harry Truman Lyndon Johnson Bill Clinton George H. W. Bush George W. […]

    Pingback by Rutherford B. Hayes Museum and Library « blueollie | August 13, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

