blueollie

Andy Payne Marathon walk: 6:16 (S P L U T)

Here is what you need to know: it was 75 F at the start and 86 F at the finish, and the humidity was steam-bath like. Or put another way, the winning male runner ran a 3:11.

Note that Barbara walked her 5K in 57 minutes and won an age group medal. In fact, she took FIRST! (Don’t ask her how many were in her age group ๐Ÿ™‚ ). But what I am impressed with is that she has worked through recovering from foot surgery earlier this year (2008).

Ok, what about me: I was at 4:10 at mile 20 and it took me TWO HOURS, SIX MINUTES to finish the last 6.2 miles. Why? Same old same old; at mile 22 I really got overheated, and at mile 23 I sat down for 10 minutes. Mile 23 seems to be tough for me. I tried to get up, dropped to my knees, puked (just a little) and then I rubbed ice all over my body. The aid station crew were unbelievable; I need to find out who they are and send them a card.

The gave me ice, water, and a diet Mountain Dew to get me going, and after spending 30 minutes there, I was able to resume walking at a reasonable pace. I did lose 3 places during this pit stop.

The course is roughly this: you do about 1.5 miles (2.9 km) on bike paths, then you circle Lake Overholser three times; each lap is a bit over 8.1 miles (13 km), then it is just under .5 miles (about 800 meters?) to the finish.
So, here is the rough tale of the splits: 18 minutes for hte 1.5 out, 1:42 for the first loop, 1:44 for the second and, drum roll please, 2:31 for the last loop (plus the .5 or so, so the loop was about 2:24).

The good: I finished this time.

The bad: I sucked. I didn’t suck for the first 20 miles though, and my 17.7 mile split was 3:45, or better than I did the (albeit hilly, but cool) Austin 30K at the beginning of the year.

Note: I was 6 minutes faster here at mile 20 than I was at my Quad Cities DNF.

One final note: Congratulations to the race director and all of the volunteers; they stayed out there on a hot day and really took good care of us. I wouldn’t have finished without them.

May 24, 2008 - Posted by | marathons, time trial/ race, travel, walking

11 Comments »

  1. Wow, that sounds unbelievably miserable. I have no idea how you did it… and the winner finished in only 3:11?!? Yikes! YOU didn’t suck, by the way, the weather sucked. Your time would have been much better if not for that.

    Comment by Tammy | May 24, 2008 | Reply

  2. You are tough and finishing a marathon never sucks in anyway. Hooray for finishing in conditions you are not used to. And kudos to Barbara!

    Comment by Rose | May 24, 2008 | Reply

  3. Tammy, “Rose” is my sister who walked her second 5K race in Austin, Texas just recently.

    Thanks for the encouragement. Still, I need to find a better way to “budget” my energy when conditions shift the way that they did; my first 18 mile pace was entirely appropriate for 75 but not for 85 (given that it was 50 F for my previous training walks). ๐Ÿ™‚

    The ironic thing is that I completely enjoyed the first 20 miles as well as the last 3. The only mile was was really bad was mile 23; when I got my body temperature down, I was able to digest my water and was able to resume walking normally.

    Comment by blueollie | May 24, 2008 | Reply

  4. Yeah, training at 50 degrees for an 85 degree race is probably the culprit, I agree. I really hope to avoid any 85 degree+humid races. It’s very dry here, so I’d have trouble prepping for the humidity. Maybe if I put a treadmill in my bathroom and ran the shower ;)?

    Comment by Tammy | May 25, 2008 | Reply

  5. Good job finishing. Did you use any S-Caps type product to manage electrolytes? That may be a factor. I know I’m popping the salt pills here in Georgia as the temps climb for summer.

    Comment by David Ray | May 28, 2008 | Reply

  6. Yes, I used those caps and frankly that wasn’t a problem; as soon as I got my body temperature down I was able to resume with no difficulties at all.

    I had almost no post race soreness.

    Comment by blueollie | May 28, 2008 | Reply

  7. […] Andy Payne Marathon (2008) 6:16 […]

    Pingback by Quad Cities Marathon 2009 « blueollie | September 28, 2009 | Reply

  8. […] I compared this race to my Andy Payne Marathon in 2008, my F/X 12 hour event in 2007 and my Quad Cities DNF in 2007 and these were almost identical.ย  […]

    Pingback by Marathon photos and notes « blueollie | May 25, 2012 | Reply

  9. […] mile 23 aid station and “finish”, albeit with a super slow time. (walking) (here and here) But these DNF and “super long due to rest” finishes were due to my going out too fast […]

    Pingback by My Worst Marathon Ever… « blueollie | January 17, 2013 | Reply

  10. […] 5:17 + 11 2004 2:30/2:43 for 5:13 + 13 2005 2:37/2:48 for 5:25 + 11 2005 2:35/2:59 for 5:34 + 24 2008 2:45/3:31 for 6:16 + 46 2009 2:35/2:39 for 5:14 + 4 2009 2:35/2:54 for 5:28 + 19 2012 2:46/4:12 for 6:58 + 1:26 (86 […]

    Pingback by This weekend: anxious, nervous, excited…Peoria’s First Marathon « blueollie | May 17, 2013 | Reply

  11. […] be as hot as hell. Yes, I’ve faced similar conditions before, (in marathons), finishing the Andy Payne, We Walk, and DNFing at Quad Cities twice (2007, […]

    Pingback by Uncertainty « blueollie | September 23, 2017 | Reply


Leave a Reply

