blueollie

Emotions upon seeing a wheelchair

9000-xt-wheelchair-16-inchX16-inch-with-fixed-height-space-saver-desk-length-arms

Today, I had a final exam from 9-11 and then I took my wife out to lunch; since she has a Jones Fracture in her foot she is in a wheelchair.

Every time I fold up the wheel chair and put it in the car, I feel…well, down and sad. I think that those feelings came from when I visited my mom (after she went downhill a bit; she is 86 due to be 87 in a couple of weeks).

But that is a bit illogical; the wheelchair actually affords my wife more mobility than she’d otherwise have; it is a wonderful invention.

But I still; emotionally the wheelchair brings out the “she’s injured” feelings more than “look at what she can do even with this injury” feeling.

babaatthejonesdomenov2013

December 12, 2013 - Posted by | family |

2 Comments »

  1. I hope your wife is feeling better and healing quickly.

    Emotions are weird, though. I recently left a well-loved job. Initially they were going to replace me, and that really upset me. I was REALLY jealous at the idea of someone else “taking my spot.” Ultimately, they aren’t likely to replace me, and I’m relieved by that, even though that really signifies how UNNEEDED I was…

    Comment by jenjw4 | December 12, 2013 | Reply

    • Yeah, leaving a job can bring up emotions. On one hand NONE of us are irreplaceable (but being reminded of that is not fun) but on the other hand, it is nice to know that we are making a contribution.

      Comment by blueollie | December 12, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 658 other followers

