blueollie

Back Issues Part II

Workout notes

69 F, 93 percent humidity (it was stuffy, but not hot)
2 mile jog (lane 2) 21:12.
4 x 800 with 400 walk 100, jog 300 recoveries: 4:03, 4:07, 4:04, 4:02 (heavy legged) 3:11, 3:47, 3:45, 3:43 (30:44)
walk 400 m slowly
run 1 mile (lane 2) 9:52
walk 1200 slowly. (lanes 2-3)

Total: 7 miles
The 800′s left something to be desired, but I didn’t exactly kill myself

Back notes
Dr. called; blood work is normal (albeit with slightly higher than normal B-12)
X-rays: narrowing of the spinal canal (chronic); areas: L3-L4 and L5-S1
myspine

(from here)

That, along with the flat lumbar spine area Screen shot 2013-08-05 at 4.33.08 PM

will lead to some forward lean in my running and walking. Oh well. I have a script for PT and until then, I’ll continue with the Williams set. I usually feel great after doing these.

Upshot: I am aging and my old injuries are catching up with me. No biggie, though I’ll have to be smart about how I train (lots of cross training, add yoga to my weight training, use tracks and treadmills and grass for some of my running, mix in walking, etc.)

Update I saw the physical therapist and evidently, back bends can help; I am VERY limited in that area. So I’ll do a LOT of these, several times a day:

HP_MAR06_Bhujangasana_248

The progression will be:
1. lay on the stomach
2. (sort of) Low cobra (on the forearms)
3. (sort of) Higher cobra (as above)
I am limited to about 30 degrees of backbend.

The name of the exercises are the McKenzie exercises. I am pushing up rather than using my muscles to do it.

Also, I was told to be careful on how I get up out of a chair: slide to the front and get up as if I had a piece of paper pinched in the front crook of where the thigh meets the torso (flat back).

Joke
Screen shot 2013-08-06 at 10.26.57 AM

Why my wife shows this strip to me I’ll never know. :-)

August 6, 2013 - Posted by | humor, injury, running | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 645 other followers

