blueollie

Feet, entitlement and shiny butts…

Workout notes
I decided to rest my heel by swimming: 500 yards (11:00!), 500 of strokes (200 side, 100 back, 2 x 100 IM), 10 x 50 on the 1:05, 200 drill, 100 in 2:05. 1800 yards, easy. Well, that was my first swim in several months and it didn’t go that poorly. I’ll probably do more of this while my heel bruise “heals” up.

I did get in the treadmill and after a step or two said “nah…give it a rest”. It wasn’t that painful but right now is not the time to risk it.

Weather: still snowing. Yuck.

Entitlement My favorite basketball team finished with a 16-16 record. But, because the NCAA takes 68 teams, the NIT takes 32 teams, the CBI takes 16 teams and the CIT takes 32 teams. So that is 148 teams in “post season play” out of 347 Division I teams. My team is ranked 170 but got in the CIT anyway (thanks to people who show up to games) and won their first two games; both at home.
I enjoyed the games, but was a bit “outraged” (at first) when I found out that the 3′rd game was on the road. I wondered “why didn’t we get a third home game?” when I should have been happy that we had ONE, much less TWO home games. :-) Sure, the upcoming opponent swept us in the regular season and beat us by 30 the last time we traveled to their place. :-) But hey…*I* enjoyed the home games!

Off remark
After yesterday’s 5K, a youngish (30 year old) woman told me: “this time you got ahead of me and stayed ahead of me; I tried to catch you but couldn’t” . We chatted cordially but I couldn’t place her.

Then I looked up the results: I did remember her but didn’t remember her face. I did pass her at mile 1 of a race two weeks ago and then she got me at the very end; but I only remember her from behind! Why? Well, let’s just say that most women who run ahead of me are skinny; she is one of the few ones with a normal size butt (yes, it is curvy). So, she stands out. But I didn’t even recognize her from the front!!!

March 24, 2013 - Posted by | basketball, Personal Issues, running, swimming | ,

4 Comments »

  1. Ollie, I always have a goal of beating you, but I’ve yet to meet it. I need to get quite a bit faster (in 5ks, I tend to be around 29:30) and/or you need to get a lot slower. I would say time is on my side, however, I think your years of training are going to continue to defeat me for quite awhile.

    Comment by jenjw4 | March 25, 2013 | Reply

    • never discount race variation; you might catch me, say, after a blood donation when you are at your peak. But if you want an “honest” series of contests between us, we can use the “age/sex” calculator here:

      http://www.eracewalk.com/CalcAgeg.htm

      Reason: based on tables on this sort, I can race women in the 30-34 age group on equal terms. So your racing me is like you racing a woman in her early 30′s; age makes a difference. Example: using 53 years for me, my 25:14 rates 59.91; 41 years for you: 25:46 rates 59.90. So there is about a 32 second difference between our expected times. So, I’ll spot you 35 seconds for a 5K if you’d like.

      Comment by blueollie | March 25, 2013 | Reply

  2. True, and I am 10 years older than that. I am still at the stage where I’m new enough that my times are generally improving, but I know I’ll reach my max and start to decline. Hopefully that won’t be too depressing. I suppose I just need to remind myself that declining is better than halting.

    Comment by jenjw4 | March 25, 2013 | Reply

    • Rule of thumb: we have roughly 7 years of improvement (starting when you started to run). At least that was the “old coaches tale”.

      Comment by blueollie | March 25, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 651 other followers

