blueollie

Brrrr….come on…it is the middle of March! :-)

Last night Tracy, Olivia and I drove through a windy sleet storm to our favorite Chinese joint; in the meanwhile some of my running buddies were getting in their distance….outside.

This morning it was a balmy 22 F (-5.5 C) when I started my hilly 10.x mile run: (yes, Olivia was belly up in bed…she didn’t even think about joining me)

Screen shot 2013-03-13 at 9.25.21 AM

corn81567climb
corn1extrareally

I added these two courses together to get 10.1. The second (which I do between miles 7 and 9) SEEMS longer than 1, but it really isn’t. The hills just slow one’s pace down.

I was just over 9:30 when I entered the park, 23:4x at the turn around (quicker than normal), 39:06 at the top of the park (just past 4), 1:10:04 (30:58) at 7.1, 21:46 for that “long” 1 mile out and back, 9:29 for the last 1.03 miles for 1:14:21 (fastest for this course, which I’ve only been doing for 1 year or so). The 8.1 segment was 1:19:33 which is my fastest since last September, when I only did 8 and it wasn’t that cold.

It IS getting better.

March 13, 2013 - Posted by | running | ,

2 Comments »

  1. I am so tired of winter. I ran the other night, and even with earbuds in my ears and a hat with flaps, it felt like the wind was blowing directly into my ears and freezing my brain. I think it was honestly worse than running in the slush at the Cactus Classic.

    keep reminding myself, “Winter miles bring spring smiles.”

    Comment by jenjw4 | March 13, 2013 | Reply

    • It was colder this morning, but more pleasant due to “no sleet”. I am getting ready to call NASA and ask what that big, bright shiny yellow light in the sky was. :-)

      Comment by blueollie | March 13, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 656 other followers

