blueollie

Attempting to change my ways….

I am not going to back down from writing about topics, nor am I going to soften my factual conclusions to save people’s feelings. However, I am going to do my best to avoid name calling.

In my previous post, I commented on a fake “Columbia University” ID (supposedly of Barack Obama) that was floating around the internet. I used the term “idiot” to describe those who pass around such stuff.

But really, my purpose of the post wasn’t to make judgements on the intellects of people I don’t know. The purpose was to say “this is false” and “this might appeal to this group because”.

Again, this doesn’t mean that I am going to back away from saying stuff that might hurt people’s feelings (e. g., most of the public doesn’t know enough science to make a scientific judgment on things like GMO’s, medicine or aspects of cosmology or evolution); I really believe that to be the case. But I don’t have to add “gee, aren’t these people losers/idiots/morons” etc., even if I’ve lost my temper and am thinking that at the time. After all, someone who might have delusions in one area might well be accomplished in another area, or have some other good qualities.

Example: in yesterday’s slush-fest trail race, a CREATIONIST (ick!) finished the slushy trail marathon where I badly failed. Obviously, she had something positive going for her that I didn’t have.

March 11, 2013 - Posted by | Personal Issues, social/political |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 645 other followers

