blueollie

Quad Cities Half Marathon

I knew I wasn’t in shape to handle the full marathon so I entered and powerwalked the half (13.1 miles)

Time: 2:25:13 (11:05 minutes per mile) My age graded time was about 2 minutes off my PR though my actual time was 8 minutes off. Place: 909 out of 1180.

This was a better performance than my running race yesterday; of course I was hampered my not having enough training.

Form wise I am all but certain that my knees were “soft” (e. g., would have been illegal in a judged racewalk).

My two mile splits: 21:46, 21:09 (42:56), 21:17 (1:04:13), 21:30 (1:25:44), 22:16 (1:48:00), 23:53 (2:11:54), 12:00 (hurting), 1:18 last .1.

Race Report:
The day couldn’t have been any better; high 50′s with some humidity at the start. The start corral was a bit overfull; they needed about 20-30 extra meters.

Still, with the chip start I only needed 2 minutes to get to the start line; I was off. It seemed a bit more crowded than normal; but that was due to my starting off just a bit faster than I do when I walk the marathon.

I actually was bunched up going across I-74. Yes, there was lots of nice spandex to see; but given that I was wearing a green “Obama” t-shirt, I was on my best behavior. :)

Bonnie Busch saw me on the bridge (she is an ultra athlete) and we got to chat a bit. She was doing the marathon, which is a short race for her. :)

Several other Peoria people recognized me due to my awkward walking gait.

We then took it up a good hill and through some neighborhoods; this “new” course (2006) adds some miles here. I was pushing a bit too much.

I did hear several “go Obama” cheers and one “McCain”. One of the runners told me that she was counting the McCain and Obama yard signs and that Obama had the lead 5-3.

We came down a big hill and I was a bit surprised to be holding a 10:40-10:50 pace.

We then took the bike path and I noticed a group coming up behind me; it was the 2:20 pace group. I knew that I had taken it a bit too hard but I relaxed and kept the pace about there.

The bikepath miles had me get to mile 6 in about 1:04; I told myself to just relax.

We then split off from the marathon folks (where the bike path came to the ball field) and we turned back into Davenport. That was a pleasant stroll through downtown and I slowed a bit due to a mild headwind. We then crossed a metal grate bridge to get to Arsenal Island; that slowed me down a bit.

That got me to mile 9. Mile 10 came on the island; I was at 1:48 but knew that holding my pace would be hard.

Then we went around the golf course (path) and cut off from the marathon course; I was slowing down here. I was going back and forth with the “run/walkers”.

When we left the Island we had only .6 miles to go and I was most happy to see the finish line, even if several runners picked it up there and passed me. :)

Overall: Though I know 2:25 is off where I could be were I to train specifically for walking, I was ok with it (though I know my form could be better).

Afterward, I was tired and sore; my right shoulder was sore too. It is a different kind of soreness than one gets from running and a different kind of fatigue than I got from the 5k swim.

As far as the event itself: I can highly recommend it, though I recommend that the faster runners get to the corral no later than 15 minutes prior to the start. All but the fastest walkers (say, sub 10 minute pace) can start where I did and have a half-way decent race.

This was a better performance than yesterday’s 5K run, but that isn’t saying much. :)

September 28, 2008 - Posted by | time trial/ race, travel, walking

8 Comments »

  1. Nice job! I knew you’d be under 2:30 :)! Sounds like a pleasant race.

    Comment by Tammy | September 29, 2008 | Reply

  2. Good job! Sounds like you had a nice time.

    Comment by Rose | September 29, 2008 | Reply

  3. [...] best (least pathetic?) athletic performance of 2008: Big Shoulders 5K swim (1:36). My best walk was my half marathon at the Quad Cities. My “best run” (snicker) was probably the East Peoria 4 miler. (7:52 mpm [...]

    Pingback by Last Post of the Year…. « blueollie | January 1, 2009 | Reply

  4. [...] Cities: Photos here and here Race reports here and here. And yes, I had an embarrassing DNF and a half marathon report [...]

    Pingback by 14 May 2010 (noonish) « blueollie | May 14, 2010 | Reply

  5. [...] they were outright bent. In perspective: my PR is 2:17 for the half marathon powerwalk (2003); I walked this course (more or less) in 2:25:13 in 2008. In 2009, I walked the QC marathon in 5:28 and the Rockford Marathon in 5:14 (faster [...]

    Pingback by 2010 Quad Cities Half Marathon « blueollie | September 26, 2010 | Reply

  6. [...] 5:12 marathon as a walker 2005: 5:34 marathon as a walker. 2007: DNF at mile 23 (walker) 2008: 2:25 half marathon (walker) 2009: 5:28 marathon (as a walker) 2010: 2:39 half marathon (as a walker; knee surgery in [...]

    Pingback by Peoria Zoo Run, Illinois vs. Western Michigan football and Quad Cities Half Marathon « blueollie | September 25, 2011 | Reply

  7. […] 5:12 marathon as a walker 2005: 5:34 marathon as a walker. 2007: DNF at mile 23 (walker) 2008: 2:25 half marathon (walker) 2009: 5:28 marathon (as a walker) 2010: 2:39 half marathon (as a walker; knee surgery in […]

    Pingback by Quad Cities Half Marathon tomorrow « blueollie | September 21, 2013 | Reply

  8. […] 5:12 marathon as a walker 2005: 5:34 marathon as a walker. 2007: DNF at mile 23 (walker) 2008: 2:25 half marathon (walker) 2009: 5:28 marathon (as a walker) 2010: 2:39 half marathon (as a walker; knee surgery in […]

    Pingback by Quad Cities Half Marathon 2013: Could I possibly be any f*cking dumber??? « blueollie | September 22, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 651 other followers

